Vision and Mission History Projects About Us Contact

工程信息

里奥纳多 达•芬奇桥——实用艺术品

以下文章由挪威公共道路行政署桥梁部托蒙德•戴肯撰写
e-Mail

在距奥斯陆20公里的爱丝小镇,矗立着一座非同寻常的建筑,既是一座行人桥,又是一座雕塑品。行人或者是骑车的人可以在横跨主干道E18的桥上安全行走,同时大桥也为汽车驾驶员创造了优美的桥拱景观。尽管桥梁的外观是艺术家的创意,但是只有工程师的努力才能将这种创意具体地体现出来。

从里奥纳多 达•芬奇的作品展中得到了启示,挪威艺术家韦伯荣•山德决定将里奥纳多的原始桥梁设计理念转变为较小的、更具现代气息的步行桥。里奥纳多的原始设计是修建一座跨越“金喇叭”的巨大石桥(“金喇叭”是一个将欧洲伊斯坦布尔隔开的喇叭形河口)。最大跨度约为234米,垂直高度约为40米。如果这座桥能在那时建成,其必定会成为世界上伟大的奇迹之一。

里奥纳多的原始桥梁设计理念
这一理念要追溯到大约公元1502年,当时王贝扎德二世苏丹想要用更加坚固的桥来取代“金喇叭”上的木浮桥。里奥纳多在一封信中提出修建石桥的建议,并描述了如何建造这座桥。在计划草图和平面图的结合下,可以得到桥梁的构建原理。我们今天的调查表明这座桥在技术上是可行的。然而当时的苏丹也许是不敢实施这一项目,也或者是考虑到它昂贵的造价。不管怎样,这座桥一直都未修建。

尽管没有修建,桥本身的理念仍然令人着迷。此桥的跨度在当时是无与伦比的。要理解这个工程的巨大程度,我们必须考虑到当时最大的石桥跨度是37.5米,即使在石桥时代晚期,20世纪初期,最大的石桥跨度也只有90米(弗莱登斯布吕克桥——1905年建于德国普劳恩)。现今,1990年在中国湖南省境内修建的跨度为120米的武朝河大桥已经是世界上跨度最长的石拱桥。

里奥纳多桥不仅结构巨大,而且结构外形也非常优美,同时这一形状有一个目的。最基本的负载系统包括3个桥拱,一个垂直拱承载顶部压力,两边各一个斜拱;垂直拱(其高度与跨度比约为1:6)紧跟这条推力线。然而考虑到侧边的负载,要求桥宽将使桥变得很纤细。里奥纳多为桥设计了斜拱来确保两侧的稳定性,这就使该座桥有了独特的外观。

艺术家的解说
我们不应视挪威爱丝小镇的木桥为里奥纳多桥设计理念的一个大型的样本,而应视其为用木头对里奥纳多设计理念的表述。艺术家韦伯荣•山德被文艺复兴时期特别是里奥纳多桥梁理念的大胆设计及优美的外观所吸引。他彻底地研究了这一理念,并成为推动这一理念物化为真实木桥的力量。在艺术家与公共道路行政署、胶合木生产商、建筑师和咨询工程师的通力合作下,该理念的基本原理变成了一个外形优美的木桥范例。

人行桥的形状是严格地按照里奥纳多的草图的线条而做的,而且是以更加明显的方式来表现的。胶合板材的使用要求更轻、更低限度的结构——事实上是一种新的结构。新型现代的胶木结构仍然具有古代石桥的主要结构元素:大桥两边下陷,拱形也很优美。主拱负载垂直压力,两侧斜拱确保两侧的稳定性——这就同里奥纳多石桥设计理念一样。

木桥
木桥静态系统包括三个不相连的胶合木拱,呈圆形交叉状,并从桥墩到桥顶逐步递减。桥墩处由坚实的咬合钢筋固定。中心拱是由4段组成,其他两段用钢板槽及合缝钉固定。这些拱为胶合木材成型的可能性提供了很好的范例。复杂的桥拱表面与150×1150 mm 的网面相对称,由这些对称物中,木材是通过电脑辅助的打磨机成型的。

桥面是由中间突起的主拱支撑。在里奥纳多的草图中,桥面两边下陷,由纤细的钢柱支撑。桥面上使用的压缩胶合木梁使得它可以沿用理念中的平滑线。木梁是通过将预弯曲胶合木同预应力高强度钢筋夹在一起形成的连续板层。同时,桥面有隔水膜和耐磨保护层。

大桥高度暴露在受风蚀环境中,因为结构不能为其提供保护。因为美学效果的原因,金属覆层、塑料涂层和木质镶板等都未采用,只用化学防护来确保大桥合理的使用寿命。在这些化学防护中,由于视觉效果的原因而没有用碳酸,因为它太黑了。同样因为环境的原因CCA—处理方法也未采用。最终,在众多化学防护中采用了大量环境友好型措施以增加桥梁外观效果、延长使用寿命。

应用系统包括:

  1. 拱的每个单独薄片都是经过带有AB类型的重金属压缩扫描处理。也是为了与土壤隔离开。

  2. 胶合、精致的拱形是通过压制含有水基蜡乳剂超级防腐木材(Ultrawood)成型,这样可以给拱造一个防水表面。

  3. 为了进一步防水,在已完工的桥梁结构上涂两层带色油漆保护膜。在随后的几年里,都要定期地用这个方法来保护桥梁结构。

  4. 为了给胶合木拱,特别是那些暴露在潮湿环境中的拱,提供其他保护,比如将硼棒插入桥墩旁预先钻好的洞中。只要木头一直保持干燥,这些硼棒都无活性,但是只要湿气侵入,这些硼棒就会溶解以防止木头腐烂。同时必须定期检查这些硼棒,如果必要,也要及时更换。

  5. 挪威桥梁设计规定中要求所有桥梁的设计使用寿命是100年——其中包括木桥。然而即使使用以上方法,这一要求仍无法完全实现。在没有任何重建工程的前提下,该桥的使用寿命也大约只有40年。然而该设计规定的唯一例外就是具有艺术及美学性的桥梁。

  6. 经过两年的风吹日晒,该桥的整个结构看起来依然完好。然而由于温度和湿度的变化拱形里大量的横跨部分已经有了裂缝。虽然现在裂缝还不至于令人担忧,但是从长期的角度来考虑,表面部分的开裂会引起进水,而水进入到横跨的部分后则会引起腐烂。虽然考虑了填充这些裂缝,但却还未采纳这种方法。因为在木头和填充物之间通常会出现新的裂缝,这样就会使得情况变得更糟。无论如何,我们都在监测这些裂缝,如果情况变糟了,我们就会采取如覆层这样的措施。

结束语
抛开它的耐久力,有些人也许会认为里奥纳多 达•芬奇桥是一个成功的项目。该桥吸引了众多人的注意和好评。它不再是一座工程桥,也不是最有效的高速桥,但它有其自身的作用——那就是为行人提供一幅美丽的风景、为小镇提供一座优美的雕刻艺术品,而且步行以及骑车的人通过这座桥时都深有体会。最后,这座非同寻常的桥以及它优美的外形,多多少少都能增加公众对桥梁的兴趣。

有关奥斯陆里奥纳多桥梁项目的情况 | 里奥纳多 达•芬奇桥—实用艺术品 | 里奇•温哈德的文章

 

The Team Engineering Press Community Links ShopFAQ
Home Home Home

Vision and Mission History Projects About Us Contact

Engineering

Leonardo da Vinci Bridge – a Piece of Applied Art

The following article was written by Tormod Dyken, Norwegian Public Roads
Administration, Bridge Department
le-Mail

In the Municipality of Ås, about 20 kilometres outside Oslo, a rather special structure is situated, being both a footbridge and a sculpture. It makes it possible for pedestrians and bikers to cross the main road E18 in a safe way, as well as it offers the car drivers a pleasant view of beautifully shaped arches. The bridge appears more as the product of an artist than that of an engineer, although much engineering effort and creativity were required in order to materialize the concept.

During an exhibition of the works of Leonardo da Vinci the Norwegian artist, Vebjørn Sand, got the idea of translating the original bridge concept of Leonardo into a smaller, modern pedestrian bridge. Leonardo’s original concept was to build an enormous stone bridge across the Golden Horn, a horn-shaped estuary dividing the European Istanbul. With its free span of about 234 metres and a vertical clearance of about 40 metres, the structure would have been one of the great wonders of the world if it had been built.

Leonardo’s original bridge concept
The concept dates back to around 1502 as sultan Bajazet II considered replacing a floating timber bridge across the Golden Horn with a more permanent one. In a letter, Leonardo made a proposal for a stone bridge and description of how to construct the bridge. In combination with a small sketch showing plan and elevation, it is possible to get an idea of the construction principles. Investigations made in our days conclude that the construction of the bridge would have been technically feasible. However, the sultan probably did not dare to carry out the project or he considered it too expensive – nevertheless, the bridge was never built.

Even though it was never built, the concept of the bridge in it self is fascinating. The bridge span would have exceeded anything which had been built up to then. In order to comprehend the magnitude of the project one must consider that at that time, the largest stone bridge span was 37.5 metres, and even at the end of the stone bridge era, at the beginning of the 20th century, the largest span was only 90 metres – Friedensbrücke (1905), Plauen, Germany. Today the Wuchao River Bridge (1990) in Hunan Province of China, with a span of 120 metres, has the longest stone arch bridge span in the world.

Leonardo’s bridge is not only a vast structure, but a beautifully shaped structure as well – and the shape serves a purpose. The basic load carrying system consists of three arches; one vertical arch carrying the vertical loads and two inclined arches – one at each side. The vertical arch, with its height to span ratio of about 1:6, seems to follow the thrust line. However, the required width of the bridge way would have given a very slender bridge with regard to lateral loading. In order to achieve lateral stability, Leonardo provided the bridge with the inclined arches, giving the bridge its characteristic appearance.

The artist’s interpretation
The timber bridge at Ås in Norway should not be regarded as a large-scale model of Leonardo’s bridge concept, but as an interpretation expressed in wood. The artist Vebjørn Sand was fascinated by the renaissance and in particular by the boldness and beauty of Leonardo’s bridge concept. He studied it thoroughly and was the driving force to materialize the idea into a real timber bridge. In cooperation between the artist and the Public Roads Administration, the glulam manufacturer, the architects and the consulting engineer, the basic principles of the concept were translated into a beautifully shaped wooden model.

The shape of the footbridge follows loyally the course of the lines of Leonardo’s little sketch, but in a more pronounced way. The use of glued laminated timber requires a lighter and more minimalist structure – in reality a new structure. Still the new and modern glulam timber structure possesses all the main structural elements of the old stone bridge; the bridge way, with its sag at both sides, vaults over the arches in an elegant way. The main thrust arch carries the vertical loading and the inclined arches provide lateral stability – just like the stone bridge concept of Leonardo.

The timber bridge
The static system of the bridge consists of three non-hinged glulam timber arches with a rounded, triangular cross section decreasing in size from the abutments to the apex. At the abutments there are fixed ends provided by bonded-in steel rods. The centre arch is made up of four segments, the other two of tree segments, which are rigidly connected by slotted-in steel plates and dowels. The arches re-present a great example of the possibilities in shaping glulam timber. The complex surface of the arches was specified by the co-ordinates of a 150x1150 mm surface mesh, and from these co-ordinates, the wood was shaped by a computer aided grinding machine.

The bridge deck is supported by the main arch in the middle, following the convex shape of the arches. At both sides, the deck has sag as indicated by Leonardo’s sketch and the necessary support is provided by slender steel pillars. The use of stress laminated glulam beams for the bridge deck makes it possible to follow the smooth lines of the concept. The beams are pre-curved and clamped together by pre-stressed, high strength steel bars forming a continuous ribbon like slab. The deck is provided with a water tight membrane and a wearing course.

The bridge is highly exposed to weathering as it is provided with very little protection by structural means. Metal cladding, plastic coating, wooden panelling et cetera, were all turned down for aesthetic reasons, leaving chemical protection as the only option for obtaining a reasonable operating life. Among the chemical alternatives, creosote was ruled out for optical reasons (too dark) and CCA-treatment was ruled out for environmental reasons, ending up with a number of environmentally friendly systems in order to compensate for less effect and lack of long term experience.

The applied systems were:

  1. each single lamella in the arches is pressure treated with Scanimp, which is a heavy metal free agent of class AB, i.e., not recommended for soil contact

  2. the glued, grinded and finished arch elements are pressure treated with Ultrawood, which is a water based wax emulsion giving the member a water-repellent surface

  3. In order to further prevent ingress of water, the finished structure was provided with two coats of oil stain with some pigmentation. This treatment has to be repeated with an interval of a few years.

  4. In order to provide the areas of the glulam timber arches, which are particularly exposed to moisture, with additional protection, boron bars were inserted into pre-drilled holes near the abutments. These bars will be inactive as long as the timber stays dry, but with ingress of moisture, the boron will gradually be dissolved and locally prevent rot. The boron bars have to be regularly inspected and replaced if necessary.

  5. The Norwegian design rules for bridges require a design service life of 100 years for all bridges – including timber bridges. With the above treatment, this requirement cannot be fulfilled. The service life was estimated to about 40 years without any reconstruction works. An exception from the design rules was given on this point on artistic and aesthetic grounds.

  6. After two years of exposure, the structure still looks well. However, the massive cross-section of the arches and the change in temperature and moisture has caused some cracking. The cracking is still not alarming, but in the long term fissures on the upper surface, collecting water and allowing it to penetrate into the cross section will cause decay. Filling the fissures has been considered, but has been rejected. Usually a new fissure opens up in the interface between the filling material and the wood, and thus makes the ¬situation even worse. However, the cracking is monitored and if the situation becomes worse, measures such as cladding, has to be taken.

Conclusion
Apart from durability concerns, one may conclude that the Leonardo da Vinci Bridge was a successful project. The bridge has attracted considerable attention and many positive comments. It is neither an engineer’s bridge nor the most efficient way of bridging a highway, but it serves its function, provides the road-users with a beautiful sight, the municipality with a sculpture and pedestrians and bikers passing over the bridge with an experience. Last, but not least, the unusual and beautifully shaped bridge may lead to increased public interest for bridges in general.

Facts about Oslo Bridge Project | Article - Norwegian Public Roads | Article - Structure Magazine

 

The Team Engineering Press Community Links ShopFAQ
Home Home Home